Madbid.com

Ronnie

You must have seen the adverts where people get a new car for £400 and ipads for £40

So I had a look at the site.

Oh, it's all flash and exciting and you watch the auctions and bids and see things going very cheap alright.

So I studied it closely - it took a while but then I saw it's a total 'legal' scam and rip off.

here's how it works and why it looks so good.

A blue ray player comes up for sale for £0.00. Someone bids for it and it goes up to £0.01p

You only have a set time to bid - a time counter counts down to zero seconds then the auction is over and the highest bidder wins.

Sounds great so far!

Well of course everyone is bidding while the price is very low - so the price soon shoots up to £30

Then it is sold for £30.

A bargain you think. £30 for a £100 blueray player - and of course, it is.

But - and here is the big BUT - you have to buy bids. You can't just bid money for it like Ebay

You have to buy batches of bids for money. Something like 50 bids for a tenner.

So........... you fall for it and buy 50 bids (cost to you now £10)

You see the blueray player and bid while it's low (oh and most items cost you 3 or 5 bids a go and more)

Someone outbids you

the timer is falling to zero, you bid again and again and again - someone always outbids you until the price gets to around £30

then it slows down.

You bid again as the timer gets to zero, you see your name as the last bid - the auction finishes but somewhere along the line someone manged to outbid you in the final millisecond.

So you dont get the item.

But, you have used nearly all your bids up and paid a tenner for those bids - so has everyone else who was bidding and only one person gets the item at £30

The other thousand of you that were bidding have used a tenners worth of bids trying to get it.

It's only guesswork here but if a thousand are bidding for the same item and all use up their £10's worth of bids